Lovers in the November sun

November 10, 2011

Today at Rocky Point Park I paused at the end of my pier-and-trail walk to savour the scene around me and soak up my last minutes of late-fall sunshine.

I was looking north over the water of Burrard Inlet with the mountains in the background. I thought about how many people were in the park at 2 p.m. on this Thursday afternoon.
There were high school students jogging and walking, at the farthest point of their “distance” run from Port Moody Secondary. Young mothers walked in pairs, pushing babies in carriages or holding them against their bodies in Snugglies. Lots of kids were at the playground with their parents, grandparents or nannies. Young couples and older couples strolled along.

I noticed lovers enjoying the beautiful day. One couple sat on a bench; the girl was sitting on her boyfriend’s lap with her long brown boots hanging down in front of his legs. I saw another couple close to me; as I watched, the woman leapt up onto her companion’s back and he walked around with her, horsey-style. It made me feel good to see these couples acting like kids. I didn’t feel lonely because I knew another time I would be there playing with my sweetheart.

About nancytinarirunswrites

I used to be known as a competitive runner, but now I have a new life as a professional writer and editor. I'm even more obsessive about reading, writing, and editing than I was about running. Running has had a huge influence on my life, though, and runner's high does fuel creativity. Maybe that's why this blog evolved into being 95% about running, but through blogging I'm also learning about writing and online communication. I'm fascinated by how the Internet has changed work, learning, and relationships. I love to connect in new and random ways!
This entry was posted in Seasons and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lovers in the November sun

  1. Keith says:

    Your story made me feel good. I love the sense connection you make with simple things and happiness. .. Thank you

Leave a Reply

