My favourite coffee house: Caffè Artigiano

Person going into coffee house

Caffè Artigiano on East Hastings (near Willingdon)

When I want to indulge myself, both sensually and intellectually, I head to Caffè Artigiano with my favourite newspaper (the Saturday Globe and Mail) under my arm.

There are several  Caffè Artigiano locations in Vancouver; sadly, none of them is close to my home. However, on Sundays it’s a scenic and easy drive from Coquitlam, along the Barnet Highway and Hastings Street to my favourite coffee house.

What makes Caffè Artigiano so special? Well, first of all, their espresso is vastly superior to what I’ve tasted at any other coffee house, including the ubiquitous S–––––––s. One shot of it in a latte or mocha is so powerful that it’s like having three shots of that other brand—at no extra charge! Also, the baristas at Caffè Artigiano have to be artists: this company has won awards for its “latte art.” The milk is poured into your cup with special flourishes at the end so that a beautiful leafy pattern or other design is created. (Sure, it doesn’t last long, but neither do snowflakes.)

My Sunday trips to Artigiano are about more than grabbing my favourite caffeinated beverage, though. I like to hang out there for l’ambience. The coffee shop is made up of two adjoining rooms, with plenty of small tables, comfortable banquettes and a large table for people who like to spread out their computers, paperwork or newspapers. I let myself become immersed, dreamlike, in the background music (often jazz) and conversational buzz of happy people in weekend mode.

Very soon I have my own buzz going. I love the simultaneity of relaxation/stimulation that happens after I’ve done a hard workout, ingested a good shot of caffeine and become totally engaged in reading or writing. On this particular Sunday, I’m browsing through the Arts section of The Globe. I feel all my “reader” neurons getting excited as I take in the “favourite books of 2011″ as described by many top writers and other eminent people. Suddenly I have another ten books, at least, to add to my “must-read” list!

All these wonderful book plots and quotes lead me to my own creative thoughts. I come up with a plan for a new page on my blog. WordNerds—coming soon!

Artigiano coffee art

A perfect latte

About nancytinarirunswrites

I used to be known as a competitive runner, but now I have a new life as a professional writer and editor. I'm even more obsessive about reading, writing, and editing than I was about running. Running has had a huge influence on my life, though, and runner's high does fuel creativity. Maybe that's why this blog evolved into being 95% about running, but through blogging I'm also learning about writing and online communication. I'm fascinated by how the Internet has changed work, learning, and relationships. I love to connect in new and random ways!
This entry was posted in Personal stories, Vancouver events and entertainment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My favourite coffee house: Caffè Artigiano

  1. Keith says:

    Says it all for all of us. Our coffee shops are our refuge, an escape. Kudos to Nancy for nailing it. 🙂

  2. George says:

    It’s a great bike ride along that route as well, should you be so inclined. Your coffee will taste that much better after biking up Barnet Highway.

  3. nancytinarirunswrites says:

    I get spooked riding near fast cars, George–I was in a bad accident once. I know there is a good bike lane along Barnet–but still, I will choose safer bike routes.

  4. margot says:

    Yes! Discovered the W. Broadway location on our visit in Nov.. Walked there for coffee and paper (not the Globe – LOL!) every morning.

  5. Pingback: Coffee House: Caffè Artigiano – Dahnya Och

Leave a Reply

