I’ll always be a summer girl: Olympic Training Log May 14-May 20

New Balance running shoes

Shoes after running in Mundy Park–no mud!

May 14, 2012

I don’t care what the date says: it’s summer today. The proof is the early light, the strength of the sun, and the state of my post-run trail shoes!

Summer is my favourite season and running is my favourite sport, so what happens when they come together?

I’m pretty happy.

This morning my knee said I could go to Mundy Park for a run. For me, the best summer runs start early. The air is still cool and fresh, a sensory immersion in sweet and intriguing fragrances.

But it’s warm enough that after ten minutes or so, I’m starting to sweat. Everything seems easier and smoother with this warmth that can almost make a middle-aged runner with an old lady’s knee feel young again. I get into a steady rhythm as I gradually increase my pace until I’m breathing hard and sweating more freely.

It was my best run in a long time; only 28 minutes, but I’m profoundly thankful for every minute of it.

***

Today’s post has to be short as I’m very busy with preparations for George’s memorial. George, my lifetime coach, was also one of my training partners when I came back to Canada from Brussels in mid-May of 1988. I was injured with heel bursitis and Achilles tendinitis, yet hoping to run in the Olympics at the end of September. While I was forced to rest from running completely, George and I went to the gym together and were partners on many punishing road bike sessions.

Jeanette Wood and George Gluppe

George with 800m runner Jeanette Wood around 1988

While looking through my photo albums, I came across some photos of George from around that time, the late 1980s.

George Gluppe and Joseph Kibur

George with Joseph Kibur about 1990

Olympic Training Log

May 14, 1988

AM: Swim 50 lengths 37:35. Felt good, pool empty.

AM-2: Stationary bike 30 min. Quads still tired from previous days’ biking.

May 15, 1988

PM: ˜75 km with Pam on bike in Holland. Fantastic bike paths and scenery but we went pretty easy and had a lot of stops—about 4 hrs of biking.

May 16, 1988

AM: Swim 50 lengths 37:05.

PM: Weights at new gym—did “pull-strength” workout plus snatch, squats, hamstring curl and extension, abdominals on Universal. Worked hard 67 min., followed by 10 min hard on bike.

May 17, 1988

AM: Did 3-hr bike ride, over 2 hrs at good pace continuous on good bike path and country roads, start and finish in bad traffic.

PM: 30 min continuous on stationary bike.

May 18, 1988

AM: Swim 50 lengths 37:05 in spite of crowded pool and tired arms.

AM-2: Did weights—“push-strength-endurance” plus hamstring curl and leg extension, situps, hyperextensions. 62 min, followed by 15 min hard on bike.

May 19, 1988

AM: Rode bike through forest to paved road near Von Karman—did 3x up and down road, rode home. About 1hr35 riding. [Flew back to Toronto that day.]

May 20, 1988

AM: Did Lifecycle, 22 min and 24 min on Level 6 (hill workout) with Level 9 on most of easy parts. Very jet-lagged.

PM: Swim 1800m about 36:50! Swimming better than ever!

This week: 135 min on stationary bike, 3 outdoor bike workouts, 4 swims, 2 weight workouts.

About nancytinarirunswrites

I used to be known as a competitive runner, but now I have a new life as a professional writer and editor. I'm even more obsessive about reading, writing, and editing than I was about running. Running has had a huge influence on my life, though, and runner's high does fuel creativity. Maybe that's why this blog evolved into being 95% about running, but through blogging I'm also learning about writing and online communication. I'm fascinated by how the Internet has changed work, learning, and relationships. I love to connect in new and random ways!
This entry was posted in Injuries and Getting Older, Olympic Training Log, Personal stories, Running, Seasons and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

