Chameleon Eyes

Your chameleon eyes draw me in
I’m drowning I want to drown I want to be immersed in you
A glance is an eternity
But your eyelids drop instantly
Chameleon eyes hiding from me.
.
My own eyelids too quickly dropped
Too many glances
Too many blushes
Even the teenaged salesgirl in the jeans store
Sees my animation
All lit up by a few words from you
I bounce.

You look so happy! she says

We’re in a crowd of people
No one exists but you
Every tendril of my being is aware only of you
My words to you are nonsensical
I’m too aware of all that is going on underneath the words

One evening your arm accidentally brushes mine
It thrills me like an embrace
My whole body responding to that one momentary sharing of our skins’ surfaces.

One day
A rainy, miserable day
I finally understood.
Under all the words that weren’t about us
Your message was clear.
No.

Next time I’ll fall in love with someone who meets my gaze.

About nancytinarirunswrites

I used to be known as a competitive runner, but now I have a new life as a professional writer and editor. I'm even more obsessive about reading, writing, and editing than I was about running. Running has had a huge influence on my life, though, and runner's high does fuel creativity. Maybe that's why this blog evolved into being 95% about running, but through blogging I'm also learning about writing and online communication. I'm fascinated by how the Internet has changed work, learning, and relationships. I love to connect in new and random ways!
This entry was posted in Poems, Relationships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chameleon Eyes

  1. lala1bay2 says:

    Love this. Very well written

Leave a Reply

