It’s all about the bike

This morning I knew I had to complete my bike ride in less than 45 minutes to make it to West Van in time to help Keith videotape the Ambleside Mile.

I was feeling pretty good, so I decided I’d try to make it to the north beach at Sasamat Lake and back. My Garmin would let me know if I was on track to break my mini-triathlon cycling time from last summer.

I thought I was riding at a good clip as I approached the Ioco townsite along Ioco Road, but then three “real” cyclists blew by me with some carefree “good mornings” as they left me in their dust. I stoically rode on and a minute or two later made the right turn to start climbing the long hill up to the park entrance.

I was surprised to see the three male cyclists not far ahead of me. It was obvious they weren’t pushing the pace, because they were talking in easy conversational tones. I was already breathing heavily by the time I caught up to them, but I managed to gasp out, “You guys are taking it easy on the hill?”

One of them replied, “Yeah, I guess we’re just too chatty.”

“Are you doing a long ride?”

“No, only 50 or 60K.”

“That’s a long ride,” I said.

“But we’re not riding that,” one of them replied, glancing at my bike in a mock-sympathetic way.

He insulted my bike!

But yeah, I understand he was just giving me an excuse for being such a sub-par cyclist.

Anyway, that bike is just the thing for getting up steep hills. Nice easy granny gears. I climbed all the way to the highest point near the park entrance, and though I could hear those guys’ voices faintly in the background, they never caught me.

It’s a wonderful moment when you turn right and fly downhill past the park gates. You can see mountains looming ahead and tantalizing glimpses of the calm or sparkling lake (depending on weather and time of day) on the left. I made it to the north beach in near-record time. Today there was no time to stop for rest, contemplation, photos, or water. I did the return trip faster than my triathlon split from last summer!

I’m sure the “insult” helped.

Total ride time: 43:56.

Nancy at Sasamat Lake

Mornings are for hard rides to the lake; afternoons are for relaxing.

About nancytinarirunswrites

I used to be known as a competitive runner, but now I have a new life as a professional writer and editor. I'm even more obsessive about reading, writing, and editing than I was about running. Running has had a huge influence on my life, though, and runner's high does fuel creativity. Maybe that's why this blog evolved into being 95% about running, but through blogging I'm also learning about writing and online communication. I'm fascinated by how the Internet has changed work, learning, and relationships. I love to connect in new and random ways!
This entry was posted in Cycling, Personal stories, Vignettes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

