Today is the best day of your life

Today, as a customer walked purposefully through the running store towards the shoe wall, I acknowledged him with a simple, “Good afternoon.”

He said, “How are you today?”

“Good, how are you?”

“Today is the best day of my life!”

“Why? Are you getting married or what?”

He laughed. “People often ask me if I’ve just won the lottery when I say that. No, it’s just that every day can be the best day of my life.”

In a flash, I felt happier. I had been struggling in “survival mode” ever since being wakened by my alarm at 6:30. My alarm had cut cruelly into a deep, drug-induced sleep. I took sleeping pills last night but for many hours they failed to beat down the mental anguish and physical restlessness of chronic insomnia.

Yes, I suddenly had new hope and cheerfulness. A stranger’s words had made me remember, again, how important attitude is, and how the gift of life is every day to be welcomed.

CanoeBurrardInlet

About nancytinarirunswrites

I used to be known as a competitive runner, but now I have a new life as a professional writer and editor. I'm even more obsessive about reading, writing, and editing than I was about running. Running has had a huge influence on my life, though, and runner's high does fuel creativity. Maybe that's why this blog evolved into being 95% about running, but through blogging I'm also learning about writing and online communication. I'm fascinated by how the Internet has changed work, learning, and relationships. I love to connect in new and random ways!
This entry was posted in Personal stories, Vignettes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

