Getting rich from running again?

Encouraging words from a young barista

This morning I walked into my neighbourhood Starbucks at 6:31 a.m. I was surely the first person there since they don’t open until 6:30 on Sundays. The baristas there all know me. I’m that skinny lady in Lululemon pants who’s there early every morning without fail. How can I wake up without the walk that lets me meet the day and the caffeine that jolts my brain to the “on” position?

Today the most sociable of the young girls who are regularly on the early shift was there. She greeted me with her usual cheeriness.

“How are you today?”

“I’m great, thanks!”

“What have you got planned for today?”

“Well, I’m going for a run and then I’ll do a long bike ride.”

“So, will you spend three-quarters of your day doing that?”

I laugh. “No—”

“Half your day?””

“Well, maybe,” I concede.

“That’s awesome! You could totally make a living doing that!”

Haha! She sees me as an athlete? I suddenly have this enormous inner grin.

“I used to, when I was young! But now I have a bad knee so I can’t run very much, and I ride my bike more instead.”

“Well, have a great day!”

“Thanks!”

Of course she probably meant I could be a coach to geriatric arthritis sufferers, but who cares?

What could be better than an early morning run in Mundy Park? I had my best run in about two weeks. My stiff back was finally better and my knee wasn’t too bad. In the afternoon, Keith and I got out for our favourite ride on the Coquitlam River trails and the “bear loop” that takes us along the Pitt River and by Minnekhada Park.

Nancy riding beside the Coquitlam River.

Riding beside the Coquitlam River.

Working out has nothing to do with money any more.  I no longer have to walk that high-pressure tightrope of top competition. It’s a perilous fine line between peak performance and devastating injury or exhaustion.

Now I am free to simply enjoy and appreciate the diminishing powers of my middle-aged body, knowing that any run could be my last run.

Just having fun!

Just having fun!

About nancytinarirunswrites

I used to be known as a competitive runner, but now I have a new life as a professional writer and editor. I'm even more obsessive about reading, writing, and editing than I was about running. Running has had a huge influence on my life, though, and runner's high does fuel creativity. Maybe that's why this blog evolved into being 95% about running, but through blogging I'm also learning about writing and online communication. I'm fascinated by how the Internet has changed work, learning, and relationships. I love to connect in new and random ways!
This entry was posted in Injuries and Getting Older, Personal stories, Vignettes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

